Data Takes Center Stage at 2019 Summer Workshop

Ames, IA – Certified Crop Advisers from around Iowa took advantage of an opportunity to increase their knowledge toolbox this week at the 2019 Summer Workshop – a workshop for CCAs by CCAs. This is an annual opportunity to earn CEUs in the summer and is held in cooperation under the umbrella of the Agribusiness Showcase & Conference.

Featured speaker Dr. Harold van Es, Professor of Soil and Water Management at Cornell University, provided insight on the opportunities and challenges of modeling data for real-world field applications. Dr. van Es also provided some insight into the progress of various applications to help with making data-driven decisions.

Also on the docket was an update on preliminary data from the 2017 crop year nutrient reduction strategy practice implementation assessment, presented by Shawn Richmond of the Iowa Nutrient Research and Education Council; an overview of how data is currently being used and the future uses for data assessments in crop production by Jamie Brand, AgriVision Equipment Group; hands-on presentations with equipment from Ag Leader, John Deere, and Precision Planting; insight into drones in production agriculture by Kevin Butt, Ellsworth Community College; overviews of data usage in decision making by Andrew Knaack, The Climate Corporation, and a farmer panel to end the day.

The 2019 Summer Workshop learning sessions are sponsored by the Iowa CCA Program and the program is coordinated by the Iowa CCA Education Committee. The luncheon was sponsored by The Nature Conservancy and 4R Plus.

More photos on Facebook.

By |2019-08-28T14:37:40+00:00August 15th, 2019|Education, Featured, Good Advice, News|

Exciting News! Iowa CCA Office Launches Apparel Store for 25 Year Anniversary Celebration

NEW in 2019!

Iowa Certified Crop Adviser Apparel, Accessories, Supplies, and MORE!

Show Them You’re One of the Best

All Iowa CCAs should show off your hard-earned credentials with apparel, outerwear, hats, etc. The new Iowa CCA store items are hand-selected by CCAs just like you. Our board of directors wants our Iowa CCAs to get the word out that the CCA program provides the standard for expertise and competence in the crop and soil management services industry! We’d like to see our CCAs wear the logo with pride.

Popular brands such as Carhartt, North Face, Eddie Bauer, and Stanley are in our store.

Give Your Staff the Appreciation they Deserve

Attention Upper Management: Do you have CCAs on staff? You need to be showing them off! We have bulk order items and quantity discounts for your business to show your CCAs off to your customers. Don’t send your CCAs out empty-handed. Have them looking professional and ready to get the job done. Need to customize items? We can add your company’s logo to all apparel items, dual branding is a foolproof way for your employees to look their best in- and out- of the fields.  Our durable clothing and outerwear selection means you won’t have to buy as often and our easy payment system will get you on the road faster.  (more…)

By |2019-08-16T11:47:35+00:00July 2nd, 2019|Certification, News|

Summer Workshop – Save The Date


Jeff & Deb Hansen Agricultural Student Learning Center | Ames, Iowa

2019 Agribusiness Showcase & Conference Summer Workshop (7 CEUs)

Event Sponsored by Iowa CCA Program
Luncheon Sponsored by 4R Plus and The Nature Conservancy

Coordinated by the Iowa CCA Education Committee, we invite you to 2019 Agribusiness Showcase & Conference Summer Workshop. Experts will join us at the Hansen Learning Center to share their experiences on the use of technology and turning all that data into impactful decisions. It is a full day of industry insights you can take straight to the field. You’ll earn 6 CEUs for this hands-on experience. Sessions run 55 minutes each. Register today, your farmer customers are counting on you!

Turning Data into Decisions | Thursday, August 15, 2019

8:30 AM
Registration opens at the Hansen Learning Center

9:00 AM
Keynote Speaker
A Deeper Understanding of Soil Health and Nitrogen Management
– Howard van Es, Professor, Cornell University

10:30 AM
INREC Statistical Survey for Measuring Nutrient Reduction Strategy Progress
– Shawn Richmond, Director of Environmental Services, Iowa Nutrient Research & Education Council

11:00 AM
The Fuel for Managing Field Variability and Maximizing Profitability
– Jamie Brand, AgriVision Equipment Group/ John Deere Dealer

Lunch / Sponsored by The Nature Conservancy/ 4R Plus

12:30 PM
Group Breakouts: 1) Ag Leader Technology 2) Precision Planting 3) John Deere

1:30 PM
Drones and Technologies in Production Agriculture
– Kevin Butt, Agriculture Professor, Ellsworth Community College

2:30 PM
Using Data for Decision Making
– Andrew Knaack, Field Product Specialist, The Climate Corporation

3:30 PM
Farmer Panel – Utilizing Data for Decisions on the Farm

4:30 PM


By |2019-07-19T11:08:35+00:00June 11th, 2019|Education, Featured, News|
Load More Posts