The Iowa Certified Crop Advisers (CCA) board of directors recognized eleven individuals for twenty-five years (certified in 1993), sixty-nine individuals for twenty years (certified in 1998), and forty-four individuals for fifteen years (certified in 2003) of professionalism and years of service to agriculture as CCAs during the annual CCA Years of Service luncheon on Tuesday, February 13. The luncheon is held in conjunction with the Agribusiness Showcase & Conference (ASC) in Des Moines, Iowa. Iowa CCAs utilize their skills in nutrient and pest management to assist growers with economical and efficient crop production. They also ensure that growers are aware of regulations and utilize best management practices to protect the environment.

The CCA board also presented the “Iowa CCA of the Year” award to Walter Armstrong, Bayer CropScience. The Iowa Certified Crop Adviser of the Year Award is designed to recognize a CCA who delivers exceptional customer service, is highly innovative, has shown that they are a leader in their field, and has contributed substantially to the exchange of ideas and the transfer of agronomic knowledge within the agriculture industry.

During the luncheon, Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey also presented the Iowa Water Quality Initiative Leader Award to two Iowa CCAs; Jason Gomes, Waverly and Joe Lally, Denison.

At the Agribusiness Showcase & Conference, two-hundred plus of CCAs received continuing education training to maintain their certification. The 2018 ASC offered over a dozen hours of continuing education units (CEUs) at the event and will offer six additional hours during a summer field day session in 2018. An Iowa CCA must accumulate a total of forty hours of CEUs every two years to maintain their certification.


25 Years of Service – Recognition Recipients (printable flyer)


20 Years of Service – Recognition Recipients (printable flyer)


15 Years of Service – Recognition Recipients (printable flyer)


Printable Press Release (with names)